90DaysofDesign: Day 3

Dear Seafarer,

Today was definitely picking up.

Learnt about the 5 basic principles of design.

  1. Alignment.
  2. Contrast.
  3. Repetition.
  4. Symmetry.
  5. Tension.

We had to play with basic shapes to recreate each design principle. I found myself already intuitively drawn to works with these elements, but could never quite put my finger on why I found them attractive. Now I know.

We also learnt how to draw thumbnails, where again; it’s not about being precise or making amazing drawings, but being able to sketch out what a layout or idea could look like. Strangely enough, my end products always end up looking NOTHING like my thumbnails. I guess mine are always a place to start with, rather than a reference to follow.

19047390_1373886402648766_377749570_o.jpg

We also got to work on our first official brief for Olympus PEN, where I designed my first ad in Indesign! Made 10 thumbnails, designed 8 mockups, none of which looked like my thumbnails haha.

18986446_1373886512648755_1741971453_o.jpg

19024744_1373886422648764_142400516_o.jpg

18986237_1373886522648754_871812244_o.jpg
FINISHED PRODUCT

During lunch, I listened to an interesting conversation with the German girl, who I learnt, today, was vegetarian. A mild debate ensued between her and another girl, who felt like documentaries that promote vegetarianism tend to be biased.

I am inclined to agree, that we only ever see one side of the story. To this day, I’m not sure which is the lesser evil; farming animals or farming crops.

The beautiful New York girl spoke to me today. She seems nice.

Despite all that, I still feel a bit lonely in class, but being engrossed in work helps.

Honestly, thinking about it, I’m really focused in class. This is the first time in a long while that I’m just working, working, working. My mind feels like it’s clicking, whirring, moving again. I feel like my gears are shifting fast, I’m paying attention, and I’m reproducing output rapidly.

Is this what it feels like to flow?

On a hilarious note, I ended up waking late today. My alarm didn’t sound, somehow. I got to school in time, but it was the most rushed morning of my life. NEVER AGAIN. I also didn’t have time for tea.

I hope tomorrow will be another good, productive day.

Good night.

 

 

Leave a Reply

